Facebook ‘Unsend’ Feature Might be Introduced Post-Data Breach Controversies, Facebook Chief Becomes Apologitic

After suffering from massive backlash in the wake of Cambridge Analytica controversy, that had CEO Mark Zuckerberg apologising, the largest social media platform decided to make its "Unsend" feature available to its over two billion users in coming months.

0
1600
Facebook, Innovation, Startup, Virtual reality, AI, VR,

After suffering from massive backlash in the wake of Cambridge Analytica controversy, that had CEO Mark Zuckerberg apologising, the largest social media platform decided to make its “Unsend” feature available to its over two billion users in coming months.

Earlier there were media reports which mentioned, that Facebook “secretly” deleted CEO ‘s posts from his recipients’ inboxes. As per Tech Crunch report, unless the “Unsend” feature is released for everyone, Facebook will not unsend or retract any more of Zuckerberg messages.

A Facebook spokesperson was quoted as saying in the report. “We have discussed this feature several times. And people using our secret message feature in the encrypted version of Messenger have the ability to set a timer — and have their messages automatically deleted,”

Reportedly, the person added, “We will now be making a broader delete message feature available. This may take some time. And until this feature is ready, we will no longer be deleting any executivesmessages. We should have done this sooner -- and were sorry that we did not.”

According to an earlier Tech Crunch report on Friday, “Three sources confirm that old Facebook messages they received from Zuckerberg have disappeared from their Facebook inboxes, while their own replies to him conspicuously remain.”

An IANS report quoted Facebook as saying, “After Sony Picturesemails were hacked in 2014 we made a number of changes to protect our executives communications. These included limiting the retention period for Mark`s messages in Messenger. We did so in full compliance with our legal obligations to preserve messages.”

At present, a user is allowed to delete only messages from their own inboxes – which once deleted gets revealed on the recipient`s thread.

Facebook has been accused for data breach, which led to many questioning their founder and CEO. Looking into the condition, the social media service provide has become very careful in regards to it’s users.

Facebooks terms of service dont give the right to remove content from usersaccounts unless it violates the companys community standards, as per IANS report.

It has been revealed that the Facebook CEO is expected to testify before  before two Congressional committees next week, on controversy over its users` data breach via British political analytics firm Cambridge Analytica.

Recently, in a blog post, Facebook Chief Technology Officer Mike Schroepfer, gave country-specific break-up of people affected by the data breach, saying information of up to 87 million people, mostly in the US, may have been “improperly” shared with Cambridge Analytica via a quiz app, “thisisyourdigitallife”, between November 2013 and December 2015.

LEAVE A REPLY